Day Trip · Japan · Nature · Osaka · Overseas · Photography · Travelling

Tsurumi Ryokuchi Park.

Towards the end of Golden Week, Dillon and I went to visit Tsurumi Ryokuchi Park, a huge open space in Osaka where there are numerous themed gardens for different countries around the world. The park was originally for the Osaka Flower Expo some years ago, but has remained a lovely place for sunny days out and walks in nature. We especially loved the Korean Garden, which is where most of these photos were taken.

In other news this week:

  • I cut Dillon’s hair(!) Personally I think he looks lovely, handsome, and five years younger! He has been working hard this week continuing to submit essays to journals and preparing for job applications.
  • I got my first pay cheque! I have seriously never had so much money in my bank account before in my life, and that’s even taking into account that I had an advance of roughly a third of my salary given to me at the beginning of April. My taxes have already been paid automatically before I received this money, and our health care premium is going to be tiny during our first year in Japan. Once I had been paid we were able to pay our (very small) cell phone and electricty bills, leaving only our rent and food to be paid throughout this month.
  • The vice-principal of the international school where I’m currently working in Osaka said very off-handedly to me that “your health insurance payments will be higher next year, but your salary will increase next year in line with that”, and I feel very happy to think that he is already assuming that he will extend my contract and that I will continue to have a job at the school next year.
  • I bought five amazing t-shirts from the supermarket for about £6 each, so now I’m able to go out on sunny days without needing to borrow one of Dillon’s t-shirts!
Leave a Reply

