Illness · Japan · Osaka · Photography · Science Museum · Teaching · Travelling

Osaka Science Museum.

It’s been a little while.

I haven’t felt much like updating this blog recently, mostly due to events that have been going on in London. It seems as though every week there’s some terrible news out of that city, either a terrorist attack or a horrific fire or several more years of heartless incompetants leading the country to look forward to. I’m considering doing another news detox, because I think that having access to 24 hour news online isn’t helping my anxiety, and I’m finding myself getting preoccupied with the safety and health of my family and the fact that I’m so far away, and what would I do if anything happened etc. Those feelings don’t lend themselves well to cheerful blog updates.

However, last weekend Dillon and I went to visit the Science Museum across the river to the north of Osaka. The streets were almost deserted, which is very rare here, and we almost had the whole place to ourselves. The museum is on a campus alongisde one of the city’s art galleries, which we are planning to visit in the summer.

Inside the Science Museum, you are taken straight up to the top floor, and you work your way around the circular floors until you are finished, and then you take an escalator down to the next floor and do the same thing again. All of the exhibitions and displays in the museum were interactive, and there were lots of fun ways to engage with science. It reminded me a little of the Science Museum in London, although this one was a little smaller, but there were still more interactive aspects to engage with.

I have been quite ill this week, so I had to take a day off work, but I made it through Parents’ Day before having to go home, and I think it went well. Whenever I get ill I always find it difficult to get my energy and mood levels back to a normal level until I have time just to rest, so I’m relieved that there are only three weeks left of this term before the summer holiday begins. Often I would get ill right at the start of the term and then struggle for the next couple of months until a holiday, so that’s something. I still don’t know what my schedule will be like for summer and when my vacation time will be, but it will be nice to have a change in routine from normal teaching anyway.

One thought on “Osaka Science Museum.

Leave a Reply

